Carolina & Dan | Summer Formal Wedding | August 2019

Kurt with Harborlight Weddings was, by far, the most organized person in our entire wedding “team” of vendors and venue employees. He works to craft your ceremony based on what YOU want, and doesn’t try to force you into options that you don’t want (unfortunately, a lot of vendors are going to try to do this to you). Kurt’s level of preparation (along with our input) resulted in a beautiful ceremony, for which we received many compliments, that had a lot of our own “personality” in it. We had readings in English and Spanish, because my wife is Hispanic, and Kurt did some announcements and parts of the ceremony in Spanish! When we did our own vows, Kurt was a huge help, reviewing our vows through multiple edits. For the ceremony, Kurt provided a great summary speech about us as a couple. He really got to know us! Some people cried during his speech! Kurt’s knowledge of our ceremony paired with his organization came in handy too - when our maitre D was lining up our wedding party incorrectly during rehearsal, and didn’t have the proper details...Kurt had the details and took over the rehearsal , so that the rehearsal could go quickly and smoothly. As my wife and I discuss who we would cut and who we would keep if we did it all over again, Kurt is in our top 3 “keeper” category. We really can’t recommend him enough.


Grace & Nick | Brooklyn Music Lovers’ Wedding | July 2019

Kurt was absolutely amazing! He was so easy to work with. Nick and I didn’t have a clue as to how we wanted our ceremony and Kurt really broke it down step by step, was in constant communication, and made sure we got the absolutely most perfect ceremony. I couldn’t have asked for a more magical and beautifully done ceremony. Thank you so much Kurt for being a part of our amazing day!!


Fernando & Sergio | Bilingual Brooklyn Waterfront Wedding | July 2019

Thank you, Kurt, for making our wedding the most unforgettable experience of our lives. You are an incredible person, with great charisma and professionalism even in the smallest details so that everything is perfect. Your command of English and Spanish made you the best of all. We congratulate you on your organizational skill and are so grateful how you let us participate in the choice of texts for our exchange of vows.


Iris & Raul | NYC Summer Wedding | June 2019

Kurt was amazing!! He made our whole experience and wedding day the best we could have had. He was so helpful with ideas and we loved his passion to make our day the best. Thank you Kurt for going above and beyond to make our day special :)


Joelle & John | Snug Harbor NYC Wedding | June 2019

My wife and I felt a natural connection to Kurt during our first phone call. He carefully considered our requests while also offering us great insight on how to tailor the ceremony. In addition to Kurt's thoughtfulness, he anticipated the small details and accommodated unexpected changes—even sending a variety of tie samples to complement the bridal party's attire. Upon our first meeting, Kurt instantly felt like an old friend. He is a natural conversationalist who holds a genuine interest in his clients' lives. One of the highlights of our day was listening to his eloquent sermon. Kurt is an articulate public speaker with perfect diction and a soothing voice; qualities we believe are paramount in officiating a marriage. Although we requested a brief ceremony, we invited him to enjoy the cocktail hour as our guest; and though he had a commitment later in the evening, he gave our guests his undivided attention. Perhaps the most special moment of the evening was when Kurt renewed our grandparent's vows in an impromptu ceremony, without hesitation. This act, above all else, exemplifies who he is. Kurt values his participation in your wedding; he understands how truly special the occasion is and will do what's possible to help in celebrating your love. If you are planning a wedding and wish to be treated like a dear friend, and not a client, we wholeheartedly recommend that Kurt officiate your marriage.


Amanda & Craig | New Rochelle Waterfront Wedding | May 2019

LOVED Kurt! He was amazing, professional, and personal! We told him exactly what we wanted for our ceremony and he set the tone perfectly..and then some! He is easy to work with and is very responsive (which is important when you are dealing with multiple vendors)! We are still getting so many compliments from family and friends about how fun and "not boring" our ceremony was. Thanks for everything Kurt!!!


Jonah & Mizuki | NYC DIY Wedding | May 2019

Kurt was an excellent wedding officiant. He was easy to get a hold of and it was quick to get a preliminary appointment to get the ball rolling. His fees were very reasonable, he answered all of our questions, and all in all he was a pleasure to work with. He was also well dressed at the ceremony and we were happy to have him in pictures with us too. We highly recommend him!


John & Luisa | Restaurant Rooftop Wedding | May 2019

Kurt did a wonderful job for my husband and I. I felt connected to him since our first phone conversation. Very attentive to our wishes and a total professional. We highly recommend him.


Nicholas & Sergei | LGBT Wedding NYC, Kimberly Hotel Rooftop | April 2019

Fantastic experience! Kurt had a meeting with us a few days before the wedding where we finalized the plan for the ceremony and his outfit! The ceremony went smoothly and remarkably well. We highly recommend Kurt. He is the best officiant I ever saw, and I have been to many weddings!


Bob & Mandy | Times Square Elopement | April 2019

Kurt was awesome and made our wedding a wonderful experience. The ceremony prepared by Kurt, with our input, was very sweet and professional. He was very prompt, he came to our hotel, was very helpful and explained everything we needed to know. He was also very affordable. I would recommend him to anyone.


Dan & Vanessa | Wedding in Spring Lake, New Jersey | March 2019

I couldn't fit in one review all of the wonderful things Kurt Denk provided to make our wedding so special! Hundreds of accolades ran through our minds, and it all came down to this: if you're looking for a caring, extraordinary wedding, Harborlight Weddings is the ONLY sure way to go. Look no further! My family enjoyed how Kurt's personality exudes happiness - it was as if another family member was with us to enjoy and partake in the festivities. We love his free spirit and wish we could do it all again and again! Thanks for all you have done to make our wedding dreams come true. Harborlight Weddings is your ceremony officiant for trusted professionalism!


Kaitlin & Luke | SoHo Elopement | February 2019

Kurt went above and beyond our expectations for an officiant. When our plans to marry at NYC's city hall fell through, my fiance and I were left in a bind. Using The Knot, we were able to find Kurt and he was able to officiate our ceremony with only 2 hours notice! Not only did Kurt save the day, he was also personable, professional, and thorough to boot! Could not have asked for a more seamless experience. Cannot recommend Kurt enough. Thanks again!


Ashley & Andrew | Brooklyn Heights Promenade Wedding | February 2019

Kurt was a true professional, but was also incredibly kind and made our day so special and personal. We are so glad we got a chance to work with Kurt and to have him be a part of our special day. Thank you so much, Kurt!


Akanksha & Kevin | Midtown NYC Wedding | January 2019

My husband and I are glad that we worked with Kurt. From the beginning till the end, Kurt simplified the whole wedding process for us. He was always available both on phone and emails for any query or last-minute changes, that we had. He was also very sensitive about the whole wedding process, and respected different view points and accordingly gave suggestions. He is friendly, respectful, professional and responsive, all at the same time. We both are very glad to have worked with him. Thank you, Kurt!


Paz & Stanleey | Brooklyn Bridge Park Elopement | December 2018

Our officiant Kurt Denk was excellent and professional. He officiated our wedding ceremony in Spanish, and made my family very comfortable in particular my mom who didn’t speak a lot of English, as well as my husband. It was a very cold day on Pebble Beach in Dumbo Park Brooklyn. He gave our ceremony a very personal touch. He accommodated and waited for us as we were running a bit late coming from Great Neck Long Island. My husband and I were very happy about this unforgettable beautiful ceremony and memory of our wedding. We would recommend Kurt any time. Thank you Kurt, blessings to you and your family. We will never forget. Sincerely Mr. and Mrs Stanleey Rodas.


Katrina & Moses | Philadelphia DIY Wedding | October 2018

Having someone like Kurt to guide us through the ceremony process was a blessing. Our wedding was a bit DIY and planned in under 8 months, so it was particularly helpful having someone reliable and experienced to support us through the most important part – the ceremony! Kurt is both organized and open. He thought through all of the little details for us, while helping us discover for ourselves the right style for our ceremony. He provided us with a template to get started. This was great because it took the heavy lifting off our shoulders while giving us inspiration to modify the language and flow to suit our personalities, preferences, and beliefs. Kurt is a natural: attentive and calming, with a natural leadership that makes you realize you’re in good hands. He helped bring our ceremony to life, and we would confidently recommend him to any couple.


Courtney & Sukru | French Riviera Destination Wedding | September 2018

We were so honored to have Kurt officiate our marriage, and cannot thank him enough for being a part of our wedding day.  We asked Kurt to travel all the way to France for our destination wedding, and when he accepted we could not contain our excitement, knowing we would be in such good hands. Kurt, is very thorough, and prepared. We had no idea where to start, but he immediately put our minds at ease and navigated us through the entire process helping create the vision for our ceremony, and the message we wanted to convey.  He spent hours preparing to make every element perfect, including tailoring our ceremony to have both American and Turkish traditions. On the day of the wedding his calming and patient demeanor eased our jitters so we could be present and enjoy the moment. Our family and friends walked away from the ceremony feeling an overwhelming amount of love and emotions with his beautiful portrayal of our love story! Kurt exceeded our expectations, and has created memories that will last a lifetime.


Ankoor & Meredith

When we look back on our wedding day, both of our families (both sides!) recall what a perfect day it was — thanks in large part to Kurt. Kurt was always my first choice for our wedding officiant, because he is so thoughtful and sincere. At first Kurt had a conflict and gave us a few other names to potentially help us out on that day, but when none of those options worked out, Kurt came to the rescue. He moved Heaven and Earth to figure out a way to officiate our wedding, and was instrumental in orchestrating the details of a complicated affair. We had a fusion Hindu/Catholic wedding with two officiants, because both families felt strongly about having equal representation. Kurt helped us navigate some rough waters to create a beautiful, personal and meaningful ceremony that focused on unity. He steered us toward symbols and themes prevalent in both Hindu and Catholic faiths. He even made himself available in the days just before the wedding to help us clarify the details of the ceremony, including finalizing vows and tricky transitions. My husband and I will always look back fondly on that beautiful ceremony, our favorite part of our wedding, because of Kurt’s guiding hand.


Katie & Pete

Kurt worked tirelessly to make sure our wedding ceremony was personalized, full of love, and inclusive of all of the people and things that matter most to us. He made us feel as though it was a collaborative process and helped us find the perfect readings and prayers to convey the message and commitment we were making to one another. Kurt is warm, funny, kind, intelligent, spiritual and has the biggest heart. He engaged our family and friends in the process and in the day to make it a truly memorable ceremony. It was the celebration we had hoped it would be thanks entirely to Kurt. Six years later and wedding guests still tell us it was the best wedding ceremony they have ever attended. 


Angie & Dave

So many of our friends and family members genuinely agreed that our wedding was one of the best they had ever attended. Much of the credit belongs to Kurt for the effort he devoted to making our ceremony as special as it was. The time he spent meeting with us and his guidance leading up to our big day helped us plan a wedding tailored to our wants. His commitment to creating a ceremony that was personal to us -- and his unique ideas that involved the closest members of our family -- made the day even more memorable. In the years since, we have re-watched our wedding video on several occasions, and each time are reminded of how Kurt's eloquent words and caring style captured and displayed exactly who we are as a couple and what makes our love for each other so special. It was a love-filled day for all who were present!


John & Shannon

It's easy to recommend Kurt as an officiant because he made our ceremony so easy to prepare and perform!  Since this was a second marriage for both of us, we knew we wanted something less traditional.  With Kurt's invaluable guidance, we enjoyed exactly the marriage ceremony we wanted but could not have had without him.  He provided a range of options after initially meeting with us to discuss our general ideas.  He then pieced together the entire ceremony based on our input.  We felt like he knew exactly what we wanted and was always willing to make adjustments as the day approached.  Reliable, prompt and easygoing, Kurt was a calming influence for our wedding day jitters too!  He is now a wonderful part of our memory of the day.


Jason & Rebecca

Kurt helped to create a calming presence for us as we wanted to make all aspects of our wedding weekend truly perfect!  One of the most important aspects of the ceremony for us was to create an inclusive environment that was split between persons of many different religions denominations.  Specifically when saying "The Lord's Prayer", we asked Kurt to recite the Protestant version, which goes a few verses beyond the Catholic version.  While seemingly a minor detail, this was to make sure no one was audibly singled-out for reciting a different version of the prayer they had learned.  This anecdote speaks to Kurt's respect for the tradition of the ceremony but at the same time, to know the intended audience of the message. Kurt is an exceptionally kind and smart officiant who will help you to feel both loved and prepared for your Big Day! 


Ed & Liz

Happy memories of our 2011 wedding still resonate today as we recall the role that Kurt played in making our wedding ceremony so special for us.  Kurt took a friendly, personal interest in our story and helped to create a unique ceremony that captured the essence of our loving relationship.  Kurt is personable, warm, and focused with just the right balance of seriousness and humor.  His sincerity and attention to detail were deeply appreciated and gave us confidence that all would go well during the ceremony.


Katie & Thad

When we reflect on the elements that made our wedding ceremony so significant, Kurt's officiating is paramount. A substantial relief during our engagement and planning, he adeptly elicited the unique array of perspectives, traditions, beliefs, and logistics we represented as a couple, and with utmost wisdom, helped craft and deliver a ceremony that seamlessly reflected them all. We conducted our final planning from overseas without complication, and Kurt tightly orchestrated his personal travel to arrive in time for our rehearsal and wedding day. His wit, impeccable delivery, and calming presence on the day were immeasurable gifts to us and noted by all of our guests. We are forever grateful for his direct hand in making our wedding such a sacred, intimate, fulfilling experience -- one which we will forever cherish.